Now playing:
The National

'High Violet' by National

'High Violet' is National's new album, to be released on May 11th.

Read times

HighVioletcover Another new release, we can put on our agenda on May 11th.

This time we have the new album by The National, entitled 'High Violet', which will be released on the above date from 4 AD (May 10th in Britain).

The group's fifth album, with the previous being 'Boxer' in  2007, was recorded in their own studio in Brooklyn and at Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport Connecticut and it was produced once again by Peter Katis (also the producer of 'Turn On The Bright Lights' and 'Antics' of Interpol and the solo album by Paul Banks under the name Julian Plenti).

The sculpture that adorns the cover of 'High Violet' is called 'The Binding Force' and is a creation by Mark Fox.

The songs of 'High Violet' are:

1. Terrible Love
2. Sorrow
3. Anyone's Ghost
4. Little Faith
5. Afraid of Everyone
6. Bloodbuzz Ohio
7. Lemonworld
8. Runaway
9. Conversation 16
10. England
11. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

See below one of the new tracks on the album, 'Terrible Love', live on American television and visit the band's website here to view clips from the recordings of the album.

The National - "Terrible Love"

Read more