Now playing:

Re-release for 'Deserter's Songs' by Mercury Rev

'Deserter's Songs' by Mercury Rev is to be re-released the on May 16 with a bonus CD.
Read times
One of our favorite albums, by Mercury Rev, and of the Greek public if we think on the great appearance of the band in Athens at the time, will be re-released soon, with enough extra material of course.

It's 'Deserter's Songs', the fourth album by Mercury Rev, who first appeared in September 1998 produced by Dave Fridmann and Jonathan Donahue. We recall that the album was voted as album of the year in the lists of NME and Mojo.

'Deserter's Songs' will be reissued on May 16 by V2/Cooperative as a double CD, with the second CD containing B 'sides, demos remixes etc.

The tracklisting of both CDs is:

CD1 (original album): MercuryRev
01 Holes
02 Tonite It Shows
03 Endlessly
04 I Collect Coins
05 Opus 40
06 Hudson Line
07 The Happy End (The Drunk Room)
08 Goddess on a Hiway
09 The Funny Bird
10 Pick Up If You're There
11 Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp

CD2 (bonus disc):
01 Piano vs. Telephone (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
02 Holes (Bill Laswell 1998 Remix)
03 Pick Up If You're There (DJ Nickel 1998 Remix)
04 Endlessly (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
05 A Soft Kiss (For Waking Up) (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
06 Tonite It Shows (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
07 Looking Back Now, I Can See (Unreleased Mix)
08 Opus 40 (Early Rough Version)
09 Hudson Line (Early Rough Version)
10 Judging by the Moon ( Cassette Tape Player Demo)
11 Goddess on a Hiway (1989 Cassette Tape Player Demo)
12 Night on Panther Mountain (Unreleased Mix)
13 Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp (Early Rough Version)

Mercury Rev will show the entire 'Deserter's Songs' at this year's Primavera Sound Festival in 28/5 (Parc del Fòrum) and 29/5 (Poble Espanyol).

Mercury Rev - Goddess on a Hiway

Read more